CHEYENNE – The Wyoming Legislature has passed several bills that will impact hunting laws in the state. Below we will go through each of the new Wyoming hunting laws.

These bills, which include amendments to the hunting of predatory animals, mountain lion pursuit seasons, and the collection of antlers and horns, among others, were passed in the 2023 legislative session. Here is a summary of the notable Game and Fish-related bills that passed, how they will impact the public, and the next steps for implementation.


One of the new laws is HB0104, which allows hunters to hunt predatory animals on public or state land at night using artificial light, including thermal and infrared imaging. The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission now have the authority to establish rules and regulations regarding the creation of zones, areas, seasons, and methods for the taking of predatory animals with the use of artificial light on public or state land.


Another new law, SF0178, permits Wyoming residents to participate in a pursuit-only season for mountain lions with dogs in areas where mountain lion hunting is permitted. However, harvesting mountain lions during the pursuit season is illegal and subject to misdemeanor charges and fines.


Nonresident hunting license application fees are also set to increase with HB0200. Nonresidents who wish to enter the special draw for antelope, deer and elk are responsible for paying the special draw fee in addition to the license and application fee. This bill has no effect on the allocation or number of resident licenses. The new prices are listed below.

The special draw fee for elk, deer, and antelope will increase to the following:

  • Nonresident elk special fee: $1,258
  • Nonresident deer special fee: $826
  • Nonresident antelope special fee: $874

This bill also will increase the nonresident fees for some of Wyoming’s most coveted licenses to the following:

  • Nonresident bighorn sheep license: $3,000
  • Nonresident mountain goat license: $2,750
  • Nonresident moose license: $2,750
  • Nonresident grizzly bear license: $7,500
  • Nonresident wild bison license: $6,000


Additionally, shed antlers and horns on public land have been defined as property of the state with HB0276. Nonresidents are now required to obtain a conservation stamp prior to collecting shed antlers and horns on designated lands.


Wyoming residents will now have the opportunity to collect shed antlers on designated lands seven days before the start of the nonresident season, thanks to HB0123. The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission regulation that prohibits anyone from collecting shed antlers or horns from public lands west of the Continental Divide, excluding the Great Divide Basin and some land west of Laramie, from Jan. 1 through 6 a.m on May 1, has been revised.


Lastly, SF056 prohibits anyone from entering, traveling through or returning across private property to take wildlife, hunt, fish or collect antlers or horns without the permission of the owner or the person in charge of the property. This bill goes into effect on July 1.

These new Wyoming hunting laws are sure to be a topic of discussion among hunters. The next step is for the Wyoming Game and Fish Department to provide updates on these changes. Especially, as they move through the regulation process. It’s important to note that these new laws go into effect at different times, so hunters should review them carefully before planning their hunting trips.

You can read more about these new Wyoming hunting laws by clicking here. Likewise, you can read more Wyoming hunting news by clicking here.

So, what are your thoughts on these changes? Do you still plan on hunting Wyoming? Let us know in the comments!

Did you enjoy the Article? We would appreciate a Share!