Governor Jared Polis signed House Bill 19-1026 that will increase fines for certain wildlife violations. Fines range from $100-200 depending on the violation. The bill was signed into law to help fund Colorado Parks and Wildlife conservation efforts. This money will hopefully go into projects that will help to increase opportunity for sportsmen and women in Colorado.
The changes in fines cover a wide range. The violations include ATV & Snowmobile, Boating, General, Hunting, and Fishing. Be sure to know the regulations before going afield and participating in these activities. You can read more on the subject here and check out the link above for House Bill 19-1026.
Some new changes that affect hunters include:
- The fine increases from $50 to $100 for procuring or using multiple licenses of the same type, possessing live wildlife without a license, fishing without a license, and hunting without having obtained a hunter education certificate increases
- Fines increase from $100 to $200 for hunting, trapping, or fishing on private property or for unlawfully posting on or otherwise indicating that public land is privately owned land
- Fines for using wildlife as bait is up from $100 to $200
- It will now cost $50 to $100 for not wearing fluorescent pink or daylight fluorescent orange garments while hunting elk, deer, pronghorn, moose, or black bear with a firearm
- The fine for possessing a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle is up from $50 to $100
- Shooting from a public road will now cost $100 compared to the old rate of $50
Have any efforts like these proved to be beneficial in the state you are from?